NTSS(National Talent Search Scheme) | NTSE(National Talent Search Exam)

NTSS || NTS Scheme || NTSE || National Talent Search Exam || National Talent Search Scheme || Details of NTSS || NTSS by NCERT, National Talent Search Scheme (NTSS): The National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) was established by the Government of India in the year 1961 with a view to bringing about qualitative improvement in school education in the country. No sooner the Council was set up than it mounted a number of programmes in this direction. One such programme was to identify and nurture the talented students. This programme took up the shape of a scheme called National Talent Search Scheme (NTSS) in the year 1963 which provided for the identification of talented students and awarding them with scholarships.

NTSS(National Talent Search Scheme), NTSE(National Talent Search Exam)

The scheme, which until now was completely centralised, was partially decentralised and was confined to only Class X. Under the new arrangement the selection of candidates for the awards became a two-tier process. The states and the union territories were entrusted with the responsibility of conducting the first tier screening examination known as State Level Talent Search Examination. Each state and union territory was to select and recommend a stipulated number (state quota) of candidates for the national level examination to be conducted by the NCERT.

The Scheme that covers areas like sciences, social sciences, engineering, medicine, management and law, helps students by providing financial assistance in the form monthly scholarship. For the courses in basic sciences, social sciences and commerce, this assistance is provided up to the PhD level. For the professional courses like engineering, medicine, medicine, management and law, this assistance will be provided only up to post graduation.

Quick links for NTSE

Some years ago, this exam used to be conducted for class X students, but then the pattern changed and it started being conducted for class VIII students. The exam will now again be conducted for class X students from 2011. Also, in 2011 Interview was removed from the Selection Procedure due to pressure from a stream of Right to Information applications.

On the basis of the National Talent Search Examination, 1000 scholarships will be awarded. The amount of scholarship will be Rs.500/- per month.

15% scholarships will be reserved for students belonging to the SC category, 7.5% scholarships for students belonging to the ST category and 3% for Physically Challenged Group of Students.

There will be two-stage selection process for award of scholarship. For Stage-I, selection will be done by States/UTs through a written examination. Students, who qualify Stage- I, will be eligible to appear for Stage-II examination, conducted by NCERT

All students of Class X studying in recognized schools are eligible to appear for the Stage -I examination, conducted by the States/UTs, in which the schools are located. There will be no domicile restriction.

The pattern of written examination will be as follows:

  • Stage I examination at the State/UT level will comprise of two parts, namely (a) Mental Ability Test (MAT) and (b) Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), which also includes Language Comprehensive Test.
  • Stage II examination at the National level will comprise of (a) Mental Ability Test (MAT), (b) Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), which also includes Language Comprehensive Test.
State Quotas:
Each State/Union Territory has been allotted a quota to recommend a specific number of candidates for the Stage II examination, the details of which will be made available on NCERT website. However, there will be no State/Union Territory Quota for the final award of scholarship after the Stage II examination.

Read more: NTSE Notification
Labels:, , , , ,

Related Posts


Post a Comment


»»AP Updates»»TS Updates